Inspections

CONTACT US +

  • Schedule an Inspection
  • (941) 749-3047

The Inspection department provides professional inspections for all trades and disciplines that are required under a permit in the County, including structural, gas, plumbing, mechanical, electrical, as well as compliance with local codes for manufactured housing and mobile homes. 

Items Needed on Job Site: 

  • Plans - Signed and Stamped in RED 
  • Permit Card
  • Notice of Commencement  (if applicable)

Manage Your Inspections From your Phone

Use our phone system to check your permit plans review, pay fees, schedule, cancel and get inspection results. See instructions and inspection codes list below.

Schedule An Inspection

To schedule or cancel an inspection you may either do so through Online Services or the IVR system. If you need to cancel an inspection on the day of the inspection you will need to contact the inspector directly.

Please note: You can cancel an inspection any time before 2:00 p.m. of the day before the inspection. After 2 p.m., you must call the assigned inspector directly.

Inspections via Automated Phone System

Selectron is an automated phone system that allows citizens to call the Manatee County Building Department and schedule, reschedule, cancel, and obtain the results of an inspection. You can also listen to a playback of where your permit is at in the application process.

Call (941) 749-3047. You will be prompted through the entire process.

  • Press (1) for English or Press (2) for Spanish. You may also press (7) to use Speech Recognition.
  • Press (1) to schedule an inspection.
  • Press (2) to cancel an inspection.
  • Press (3) to obtain inspection results or hear the assigned inspector.
  • Press (5) to listen to your permit's plan review information
  • Press (6) to request a copy of Certificate of Occupancy (C/O) or Certificate of Completion (C/C).

After you have scheduled the Inspection, you will be able to request an automated call back with inspection results after the inspection has been completed.

Please have your record number, including the prefix, available, as you will be prompted for this (example: BLD1803-1234, PLN1901-5678). It may also be helpful to know the inspection code that you are calling about. If you do not know your inspection code, please refer to your permit card. You will also be asked if you want to hear the entire list of inspections.

Inspections via Text Messaging

Building and Development Services also offers the option to manage your inspections via toll free text messaging.‚Äč

To get started, please send any text message to (234) 980-3025. You will then be prompted to enter either Schedule, Cancel, Reschedule, and Results. As with the automated phone system, please have your record number and inspection code available, as you will be prompted to provide them.

Inspector Contact Information

Patrick Wenzel / PLW
Construction Review / Inspections Manager
Office: (941) 742-4190, extension 3816
Email: patrick.wenzel@mymanatee.org

Building Inspections

NOTE: Pursuant to county policy Inspectors county issued cell phones are not allowed to receive text messages.
To communicate with the Inspectors, please call them directly using the cell phone numbers listed below.

Inspectors E-mail Cell Phone Initials
Albert "Al" Bateman albert.bateman@mymanatee.org (941) 705-3239 ARB
Antonio "Tony" Griessler antonio.griessler@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2312 ATG
Arnulfo Pena arnulfo.pena@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2301 AP
Brock Ayers brock.ayers@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2203 BEA
Brock Rice brock.rice@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2380 BAR
Bruce Mayo (Senior) bruce.mayo@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2402 BCM
Fernando Aguilera fernando.aguilera@mymanatee.org (941) 465-0821 FA
Harry Stetser harry.stetser@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2283 HJS
Jalil Jennings jalil.jennings@mymanatee.org (941) 896-2070 JDJ
James "Jim" Duckworth james.duckworth@mymanatee.org (941) 713-5153 JDD
Jeff Johnson (Senior) jeff.johnson@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2324 JSJ
John Doss john.doss@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2285 JD
John Wright john.wright@mymanatee.org (941) 465-1185 JW
Jonathan Pettus jonathan.pettus@mymanatee.org (941) 920-7315 JMP
Justin Langer justin.langer@mymanatee.org (941) 896-2297  JL
Kathy Clay kathy.clay@mymanatee.org (941) 465-1609 KC
Keith Cycotte keith.cycotte@mymanatee.org (941) 920-7329 KAC
Kristopher "Kris" Darty kristopher.darty@mymanatee.org (941) 896-2068 KRD
Michael Glassburn michael.glassburn@mymanatee.org (941) 920-7313 MEG
Michael Miliano (Senior) michael.miliano@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2368 MFM
Shawn Baxter shawn.baxter@mymanatee.org (941) 920-7174 SWB
Sonny Woods, Jr. sonny.woodsjr@mymanatee.org (941) 713-8613 SW
Thomas Ryan (Senior) thomas.ryan@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2307 TR
William "Butch" C. Powell (Senior) william.c.powell@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2347 WCP
Yhulmer Izquierdo yhulmer.izquierdo@mymanatee.org (941) 243-7055 YI
 
Admin Staff E-mail Office Number Ext.
Loretta Merrill (Admin Supervisor) loretta.merrill@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190  
Ardath Melton ardath.melton@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190  
Cynthia Hale cynthia.hale@mymanatee.org (941)- 742-4190  
Susan Hunt susan.hunt@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190  
Taylor Murray taylor.murray@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190  
Ruth Harold ruth.harold@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190  

Code Compliance Inspections

Inspectors E-mail Cell Phone Initials
Kris Weiskopf (Field Supervisor) kris.weiskopf@mymanatee.org (941) 896-2024 KW
Amy Cook amy.cook@mymanatee.org (941) 713-5144 AC
Brandon Young brandon.young@mymanatee.org (941) 737-2576 BY
Chris Winn chris.winn@mymanatee.org (941) 705-3240 CW
Randy West randy.west@mymanatee.org (941)718-2114 RW

Are You Ready For a Certificate of Occupancy or Completion?

  1. Make sure that all of your Final inspections have been passed - i.e. Building Final, Electrical Final, Mechanical Final and/or Plumbing Final.

  2. All of the CO Holds have been released

  3. All of the Fees have been paid

To check the items listed above visit our Online Services portal.

Re-Roof/Retrofit Affidavit

The Florida Existing Building Code now regulates roof deck attachments (611.7.1), secondary water barriers (611.7.2) and roof to wall connections (611.8.1). We continue to receive inspection affidavits not filled out properly or completely. Should this problem continue, our procedure for accepting inspection affidavits may change, requiring you to submit the inspection affidavit prior to scheduling inspections. Please use the new updated form retrofit affidavit or stop by the Building Department at 1112 Manatee Avenue West, Bradenton for a copy. You will be notified if these changes are necessary for compliance.

The inspection affidavit needs to be filled out completely including the correct permit number, the name of the person certifying the inspection along with the license number, approximate date and time of the inspection, the job address, the contractor's name printed and signed and the notary section filled out completely. The date the document is notarized must be the same date or after the inspection was performed.

Carroll J. Dupre, CBO, CFM
Manatee County Building Official