Inspections

CONTACT US +

  • Schedule an Inspection
  • (941) 749-3047

Inspection services provides professional inspections for all trades and disciplines that are required under permit in the County, including structural, gas, plumbing, mechanical, electrical, as well as compliance with community codes for manufacturing housing and mobile homes. 

Items Needed on Job Site: 

  • Permit 
  • Plans - Signed and Stamped in RED 
  • Permit Card
  • Notice of Commencement  (if applicable)

Schedule or Manage an Inspection (Building Selectron)

Use our phone system to check your permit plans review, pay fees, schedule, cancel and get inspection results. See instructions and inspection codes list below.

Schedule An Inspection

To schedule or cancel an inspection you may either do so through Online Services or the IVR system. If you are wanting to cancel an inspection on the day of the inspection you will need to contact the inspector.

Any calls received before 2 p.m. will be scheduled for the next day and any received after 2 p.m. will be scheduled two days out.

Please note: You can cancel an inspection any time before 5:30 a.m. of the following day. At that time, your inspection is assigned to an inspector. If you need to cancel after this time, you must call the assigned inspector.

Building Selectron

Selectron is an automated voice response system that allows citizens with a touch tone telephone to call the Manatee County Building Department.

Call (941) 749-3047. You will be prompted through the entire process.

  • Press (1) for English
  • Press (2) for Spanish
  • Press (1) to schedule an inspection
  • Press (2) to cancel an inspection
  • Press (3) to inspection results
  • Press (4) to ask general questions or access our staff directory
  • Press (5) to make a fee payment
  • Press (6) to receive your permit's plan review information
  • Press (7) to get a copy of Certificate of Occupancy (C/O) or Certificate of Completion (C/C) faxed.

To Schedule an Inspection for:

  1. Building
  2. Electrical
  3. Mechanical
  4. Plumbing

After you have scheduled the Inspection, you will be able to:

  • Have this system call you when the result of the inspection is posted Press (1)
  • Receive a fax of the result Press (2)
  • If you do not wish to be notified Press (4)
  • To hear your confirmation number and hang up Press (1)
  • To schedule another inspection on this permit Press (2)
  • To schedule an inspection on a different permit Press (3)
  • To return to the main menu Press (4)

To Cancel An Inspection:

  1. Press 2
  2. Enter your 8-digit permit number
  3. Enter the 3-digit inspection code
  4. To cancel the inspection press 1
  5. To cancel and reschedule press 2
  6. To leave the inspection scheduled press 3

To Get Inspection Results:

  1. Press 3
  2. Enter your 8-digit permit number
  3. Enter the 3-digit inspection code

To Get Staff Directory or General Questions:

  1. Press 4
  2. If you know your parties extension please dial star (*) and the extension number or the first three letters of the person's first name
  3. To reach Plans Review dial star (*) 3814
  4. To reach Permitting, Licensing, Flood, Zoning or for general questions dial star (*) 3800
  5. To reach Administration dial star (*) 3838

To Make Fee Payments:

Please have your 8-digit Permit Number ready to enter:

  • Press 5
  • Press (1) to make payment on permit issuance fees
  • Press (3) to make payment on final fees or all fees associated with this permit
  • Press (4) if you do not wish to make a payment

To Receive your Permit's Plan Review Information:

Press 6

Enter Permit Number: _____________

To receive a fax of the permit or plan check status information, Press (2), and you will be asked to enter your fax number. Listen to the permit/plan check status information message. After receiving the status:

  • Press (1) To have details of the review spoken to you
  • Press (2) To have the details faxed to you
  • Press (4) If you have heard the desired information
  • Press (9) To repeat this menu

To get a copy of Certificate of Occupancy or Completion Faxed to you:

Press 7

Have your 8-digit permit number and your fax number ready

  • Press (1) To have a copy of certificate faxed to you
  • Press (2) To have a copy emailed to you
  • Press (3) If you have heard the necessary information

Helpful Hints:

Always have the following ready before calling "Selectron"

Your 8-digit permit number. Example: 02010000
Inspection type you are requesting.
If you need help in training for "Selectron" please call 749-3047.

You can enter required codes as soon as "Selectron" begins. While this speeds up the process, it is suggested that you listen to the entire prompt and become familiar with the system. Please listen carefully as permit numbers and inspections types are verified. If there is an error, please follow the instructions and re-enter your request.

You may enter the first three letters of the person's first name. If you know the extension of the person you are trying to reach, Press (*) then the extension.

Enter Permit Number: _____________
Enter Inspection Code: ____________

Listen to Inspection Results. After you listen to the results, you will be able to:

  • Hear any message left by inspectors
  • Listen to more results for the same permit
  • Listen to results for a different permit
  • Return to the main menu

Enter Permit Number: ____________
Enter Inspection Code: ____________

After canceling the inspection, you will be able to:

  • To hear confirmation number and hang up Press (1).
  • To cancel another inspection on this permit Press (2)
  • To cancel an inspection on a different permit Press (3)
  • To return to the main menu Press (4)

Enter Permit Number: _____________

The system will confirm this permit by speaking back the site address.

  1. A Touch Tone Telephone
  2. A Permit Number
  3. An Inspection Code
  • Inspections - *3800 or call inspectors cell phone number
  • Licensing - *3802
  • Plans Review - *3814
  • Permitting, Flood, Zoning or General Questions - *3800 or *3801

Enter Inspection Code: ____________

Each inspection requires entry of the three digit inspection code. If you do not know the inspection code, you may press * to hear.

View a list of the inspection codes.

Inspector Contact Information

Patrick Wenzel / PLW
Construction Review / Inspections Manager
Office: (941) 748-4501, extension 3816
Cell: (941) 807-2599
Email: patrick.wenzel@mymanatee.org

Building Inspections

Inspectors E-mail Cell Phone Initials
Albert Bateman albert.bateman@mymanatee.org 941-705-3239 ARB
Arnulfo Pena arnulfo.pena@mymanatee.org 941-527-2301 AP
Brock Ayers brock.ayers@mymanatee.org 941-527-2203 BEA
Brock Rice brock.rice@mymanatee.org 941-527-2380 BAR
Bruce Mayo bruce.mayo@mymanatee.org 941-527-2402 BCM
David McCracken david.mccracken@mymanatee.org 941-713-8613 DM
Fernando Aguilera fernando.aguilera@mymanatee.org 941-465-0821 FA
Harry Stetser harry.stetser@mymanatee.org 941-527-2283 HJS
Jalil Jennings jalil.jennings@mymanatee.org 941-896-2070 JDJ
James Duckworth james.duckworth@mymanatee.org 941-713-5153 JDD
Jeff Johnson jeff.johnson@mymanatee.org 941-527-2324 JSJ
John Doss john.doss@mymanatee.org 941-527-2285 JD
John Wright john.wright@mymanatee.org 941-465-1185 JW
Jonathan Pettus jonathan.pettus@mymanatee.org 941-920-7315 JMP
Kathy Clay kathy.clay@mymanatee.org 941-465-1609 KC
Keith Cycotte keith.cycotte@mymanatee.org 941-920-7329 KAC
Michael Glassburn michael.glassburn@mymanatee.org 941-920-7313 MEG
Michael Miliano michael.miliano@mymanatee.org 941-527-2368 MFM
Robert O'Brien robert.obrien@mymanatee.org 941-896-2297 RO
Shawn Baxter shawn.baxter@mymanatee.org 941-920-7174 SWB
Thomas Ryan thomas.ryan@mymanatee.org 941-527-2307 TR
Tony Griessler tony.griessler@mymanatee.org 941-527-2312 ATG
William C. Powell william.c.powell@mymanatee.org 941-527-2347 WCP
 
Admin Staff E-mail Office Number Ext.
Ardath Melton ardath.melton@mymanatee.org 941-748-4501 3874
Cynthia Hale cynthia.hale@mymanatee.org 941-748-4501 6906
Leslie Glenn leslie.glenn@mymanatee.org 941-748-4501 3826

 

Code Compliance Inspections

Inspectors E-mail Cell Phone Initials
Douglas Marvin (Supervisor) douglas.marvin@mymanatee.org 941-527-2066 DRM
Amy Cook amy.cook@mymanatee.org 941-713-5144 AC
Lorreta Merrill loretta.merrill@mymanatee.org 941-737-2634 LM
Chris Winn chris.winn@mymanatee.org 941-705-3240 CW
Brandon Young brandon.young@mymanatee.org 941-737-2576 BY
 
Admin Staff E-mail Office Number Ext.
Susan Hunt susan.hunt@mymanatee.org 941-748-4501 6914

Are You Ready For a Certificate of Occupancy or Completion?

  1. Make sure that all of your Final inspections have been passed - i.e. Building Final, Electrical Final, Mechanical Final and/or Plumbing Final.

  2. All of the CO Holds have been released

  3. All of the Fees have been paid

To check the items listed above visit our Online Services portal.

If all items are completed listed please click the link below to request your Certificate of Completion or Occupancy:

Instructions for Selectron

Re-Roof/Retrofit Affidavit

The Florida Existing Building Code now regulates roof deck attachments (611.7.1), secondary water barriers (611.7.2) and roof to wall connections (611.8.1). We continue to receive inspection affidavits not filled out properly or completely. Should this problem continue, our procedure for accepting inspection affidavits may change, requiring you to submit the inspection affidavit prior to scheduling inspections. Please use the new updated form retrofit affidavit or stop by the Building Department at 1112 Manatee Avenue West, Bradenton for a copy. You will be notified if these changes are necessary for compliance.

The inspection affidavit needs to be filled out completely including the correct permit number, the name of the person certifying the inspection along with the license number, approximate date and time of the inspection, the job address, the contractor's name printed and signed and the notary section filled out completely. The date the document is notarized must be the same date or after the inspection was performed.

Carroll J. Dupre, CBO, CFM
Manatee County Building Official