HOME Eligibility Requirements & Income Limits

HOME Program Eligibility Requirements

 

The following requirements are for the FY 2019-2020 HOME Down Payment Closing Cost Assistance Program:

  • Household members must earn at or below 80% of the area median income adjusted by family
    size for the Bradenton/Sarasota MSA.
  • Maximum sales price is $144,000 for Very-Low, and $160,000 for Low income households.
  • Property must be located in unincorporated Manatee County.
  • Eligible properties must be existing or newly constructed single family homes, townhomes or
    condominiums. Funds may not be used for mobile homes.
  • Existing properties must meet Manatee County’s minimum housing quality standards. All existing
    units assisted with HOME Downpayment Assistance funding must be inspected and approved by
    Manatee County Redevelopment and Economic Opportunity Department staff.
  • Property must pass environmental assessment, conducted by County staff.
  • Homebuyer must reside in the subject property as their primary permanent residence.
  • Homebuyer’s must complete an eight hour Manatee County approved or HUD certified First Time
    Homebuyer’s Education Class prior to receiving HOME assistance.
  • Maximum per unit assistance is up to $35,000 for very-low income households, and up to $30,000
    for low income households. (Assistance includes up to $6,000 for closing costs)
  • Applicants will be required to contribute a minimum investment of $500 toward the transaction.
  • HOME funding is provided as a subordinate mortgage at 0% interest deferred loan for 30 years with
    forgiveness at the end of the term. Payment shall be deferred until one of the following events
    occur: Sale of the property, transfer of property, property is no longer owner occupied, or term has
    expired.
  • Homebuyer must choose a certified lender from Manatee County approved Lender List.
  • First mortgage lender loan must be a fixed rate loan product. No ARM loans, no-prepayment penalty,
    no negative amortization or balloon loans.
  • Lender may not impose a rate that exceeds ¾% over the FNMA or FHLMC 60 day delivery rate at
    time of rate lock-in.

2019 INCOME LIMITS

Effective April 24, 2019

Manatee County Median Income: $70,900

Below are the income guidelines for Manatee County, Florida for the HOME Program:

50% - Very-Low Income

  • 1-Person Household - $24,850
  • 2-Person Household - $28,400
  • 3-Person Household - $31,950
  • 4-Person Household - $35,450
  • 5-Person Household - $38,300
  • 6-Person Household - $41,150
  • 7-Person Household - $44,000
  • 8-Person Household - $46,800

80% - Low Income

  • 1-Person Household - $39,700
  • 2-Person Household - $45,400
  • 3-Person Household - $51,050
  • 4-Person Household - $56,700
  • 5-Person Household - $61,250
  • 6-Person Household - $65,800
  • 7-Person Household - $70,350
  • 8-Person Household - $74,850

Maximum Sales Price

  • Households @ 50% & below = $144,000
  • Households @ 80% & below = $160,000

The above 2019 income limits are current in effect for determination of household eligibility for funding under Manatee County's HOME Program. Income limits are adjusted annually and provided by the Florida Housing Finance Corporation.